Lassi but not least

I still remember one night, back when I lived in Boston, when I ran into a friend heading home from the gym at an hour when most people were venturing out to bars. He was working for some big bank or consulting firm at the time, the kind of place where the 9-5 grind is more like 8-7 or so, if you’re lucky. I commented that I was impressed by his dedication, devoting his little free time to staying in shape, when it would be so easy to let that sort of thing fall by the wayside. He smiled a little and then said, ‘the way I see it, if I get out of shape on top of everything else, they’ll have won – my job will have officially taken over my life. As long as I stay fit, I’m still winning.’ I’ve thought about that comment a lot over the years, pretty much anytime I’ve started to slip a little, succumbing to the ‘busy-ness’ that pervades medical school and now residency. It’s so easy to just melt into the couch when I get home, grabbing my computer and mindlessly clicking though facebook and the news and design blogs as I left my brain wind down. Over the course of the year I slowly started to succumb to that temptation more often than not, and it had definitely started to feel like the scorecard was heavily on the side of residency. Surgery and pediatrics – 1; Sarah and Dennis – 0. So we’re fighting back, little by little, sometimes just in 10- minute mini-runs. Tempting post-workout snacks definitely help soften the blow. A few weeks ago we brought a box of 18 mangos back from the market, and I became obsessed with the idea of turning some of them into a lassi. I had never made a lassi before, and haven’t consumed all that many of them, but it sounded like a refreshing use of our rapidly ripening haul of fruit. What follows is perhaps not an entirely authentic lassi and is perhaps better classified as a yogurt-heavy smoothie, but it was delicious nonetheless.

IMG_0405

Mango Lassi

  • 2 ripe mangos
  • 1 C plain yogurt*
  • 1/2 C cold water
  • Ice
  • 1-2 T honey (adjust based on sweetness of your fruit)
  • 1/4 t cardamom

Add mangos, yogurt, water, honey, and cardamom to a blender. Pulse until smooth. Add ice until the lassi reaches the desired consistency (we used ~2 handfuls). Top with a sprinkle of cinnamon, if desired.

*Note – we used greek yogurt for this recipe as it was what we had on hand. This resulted in a rather tangy lassi, which we enjoyed. If  you want a sweeter drink, plain yogurt will give you less zip.

-S

Leave a Reply

